What Is One To Do About Valentine’s Day?

8 Feb

Valentine’s Day is less than one week away ladies!  What shall we do? 

Here is what we are NOT going to do:

We are not going to be depressed, angry, or bitter.
We are not going to rail against the unnecessaryness of Valentine’s Day in general.
We are not going to harbor hostility and/or envy towards coupled people in general or the flowers sent to them.

Here is the one special day of the year devoted to expressing love to one another, and the thought of the day fills many of us with misery.  It reminds us that we are missing romance in our lives.  I get it.  But I also find it curious, and downright strange, that the American Day of Love does not automatically fill us Christians with joy.  Maybe we need to reframe the prevailing view of  Valentine’s Day.  Love is not just for lovers.  Love is for all people, no?

My favorite thing to do for Valentine’s Day is to make a list of all the people who are not likely to receive a token of affection on (this would be a ladies only list, by the way), and then to give them a small gift. Usually it’s Godiva Chocolate. I try to mail my packages. And may I just say, the joy and the delight that my girlfriends express is better even than Christmas!   This costs money.  It takes time.  I definitely have to plan things out just so.  But I feel purposeful, and get a strong reminder of all the love that I have in my life. 

There is no sense in trying to resist the wave of red hearts that is sweeping the nation this week.  We have to swim with the tide.  That may mean buying some red hearts, or finding some red construction paper and making some red hearts, or using some red food dye and baking some red hearts.  But the point is that we should remember that Valentine’s Day is a day to remember the one (or ones) we love, and to tell them.

Do you love your parents?  Do you love your siblings?  Do you love your co-workers?  Do you love your girlfriends?  Do you love your cousin?  Do you love your fellow youth leaders?  Do you love that woman at the dry cleaners who got that stain out of your blouse?  All love counts! 

Christian singles let’s lead the way in the spreading of love on Valentine’s Day!  How will you show some love?

2 Responses to “What Is One To Do About Valentine’s Day?”

  1. Kristi February 12, 2011 at 12:26 am #

    I’m totally with you on this one–I appreciate that we have a day to celebrate love–I’m blessed that I have lots of love in my life: no husband or kids, but I have parents, siblings, extended family, wonderful friends, and the list goes on.

    I sent out my “valentines” earlier in the week–little notes to friends and family letting them know how much I love and appreciate them.

    Maybe someday I’ll get the flowers, but until then, I’ll continue to step out and spread the love around.

  2. Kristin February 18, 2011 at 12:15 am #

    I spent Valentine’s Day chatting with a dear friend over coffee, and that evening I went to a nursing home with a small group of godly families that I know. I was the only single person there, minus the one early high school girl. You know what? It was great. I had felt such a great sense of joy all day; I’ve been praying for more contentment in my singleness, for patience to wait for the one meant for me and praying *for* him as well. It was a great day. 🙂

    I will say that I find the materialistic aspects of Valentine’s Day to be silly. I like flowers, sure, and chocolate is good every now and then, but I don’t see the point of candy bouquets, cheesy stuffed animals and overpriced roses. I have a feeling I’ll be a content with the ‘hand me a single flower and just confess your love to me’ deal. 🙂 I agree, though- sharing Love is so important! Valentine’s Day is a great day to be an encouragement and tangible example of Christ’s love. Love what you did for your friends! I may have to try that next year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

