What would you say to your upper 30’s female friends who are currently single and who always wanted children and are now lamenting the fact that it may never happen for them?

9 Oct

older momsWell, what would you say?

Leave a comment, why don’t you?   Also, take a read of the comments of others found on this UrbanBaby.com page where someone (not me ) originally posted this question.

I have all kinds of friends, so depending upon the friend I would say:  If you have no moral or religous objections, and you have the money, have a baby.  Get pregnant immediately.   What’s stopping you?  Be a mother.

Actually, though, now that I’ve written the words, I realize that I actually do not agree with this point of view.  I do not adhere to the modern woman’s “you don’t need a man” philosophy of life or parenthood.

So, upon reflection, what I would say is:  if you have no moral or religious objections, and you have the money, adopt a baby.  What’s stopping you?  Be a mother. 

There is a difference, I think.  Adoption being an act of service; pregnancy and childbearing being more self-indulgent.  

This may not be right, though. 

If I am an opponent of the “I don’t need a man”  philosophy, then shouldn’t I also be an opponent of both natural-birth parenting and adoptive parenting by single women since both arguably send the same, “I don’t need a man”, message?

I’ve got more thinking to do.  I’ll get back to you.

One Response to “What would you say to your upper 30’s female friends who are currently single and who always wanted children and are now lamenting the fact that it may never happen for them?”

  1. Savannah October 17, 2009 at 10:04 am #

    Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,

Leave a Reply

