WB Gets Married: It Is Well With My Soul

26 Sep
Rejoice!
Image by OakleyOriginals via Flickr

After learning of WB’s impending nuptials, it took me days to get over the news.  Two days to be exact.  They say that grieving generally involves five stages: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and then acceptance.  The pattern varies depending upon the particulars of one’s situation and spirituality.  During the night and the day following my learning of the wedding, I went through denial, anger, and depression in pretty rapid succession.  By the second day I was finishing with depression and had moved forward into acceptance.  The morning of the third day, I was done.  Which was a good thing, because on the third night, a boxed and elaborate wedding invitation arrived for me.

During those two days of grieving, though, there were thoughts that got me through.  Like the fact that, though I asked regularly, WB never talked to me about his love life.  He lives far enough away from me that I never see him.  It would have been entirely possible for him to marry and have children without my ever knowing anything about it.  But he didn’t.  WB told me his news.  Though not actually saying the words, he told me as best he could, gently and with sensitivity.  Then, in addition to those gestures of my significance to him, he invited me to his wedding.  Gratefulness is what I felt.

Also, in the midst of my depressing and anxious thoughts about being StillSingle, I forced myself to distinguish between what my emotions were telling me and what I knew to be true.   From God’s perspective, was the feeling that I would never get married truth or a lie?  I decided to believe God’s truth that a husband and family are in my future.  That my having a loving marriage and children is as certain as the Second Coming.  Hopefulness is what I felt.

Finally, when I got the invitation, and such a wedding invitation I have never received —enclosed in vellum, encircled with a satin ribbon and a rhinestone embellishment, encased in a linen-type box which was bound by another satin ribbon with a jeweled clasp–I was delighted for WB’s bride.  She’s getting a fine man, and a dream wedding, I thought.  Later though, after I’d Googled her (yes I did), I thought about WB’s choice.  His bride is a nurse.  She is lovely and special, I’m sure.  WB, in choosing her, though, has chosen a pedestrian way of life.  He who could be king has, instead, chosen the life of a country lawyer.  Alas.  But on the heels of that thought it occurred to me that even such a one as Moses was called out of ordinariness to fulfill his purpose and destiny.  This reminded me of the faithfulness of God.

So WB is getting married.  Mazel Tov to him!  While I await more information about my own joyous event, I will be attending a fabulous wedding in November.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

