TGIF. What Are You Doing Tonight?

18 Sep

Taraji8.21  I find myself headed to see the latest offering of Tyler Perry.  Yeah.  I know.  I said I don’t like his films at all.  But this movie got better reviews than the other movie options available tonight (go figure).  So I’ve given myself permission to go and possibly enjoy it.  I’ll let you know.

 

 

1.57  Well.  I loved the music, the vocals.  I laughed out loud.  I cried twice.  Dare I say it?  The movie was good.  I could wax on (the protagonist, April, was an older single woman after all), but I’ll simply say that my favorite line came at the end of the movie.  When April was faced with the truth about herself, she swallowed her pride and acknowledged, “I don’t know how to love the right way.  But I’d like to learn.  Will you teach me?”

I don’t know if I know how to love a man the right way.  But I, like April, am teachable.  And I’m willing to learn.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
2 Responses to “TGIF. What Are You Doing Tonight?”

  1. Is September 21, 2009 at 1:19 pm #

    I enjoyed this movie, too! I left the theater elated and encouraged. Mr. Perry’s progression from Diary of a Mad Black Woman to this movie was hopeful. Honestly, I feel as if we are witnessing a dream come to a more full fruition. When God promises you something – and you think I’m not the best, this or that – How Lord? This is how! He is developing Mr. Perry and his team. What’s even better? God is no respecter of persons — reitterating the God will he wants for me!!

  2. stillsingle September 21, 2009 at 10:37 pm #

    Thanks for the comment Is! Your words are encouraging. “This is how,” indeed! Little is much in the hands of the Lord.

Leave a Reply

