31 Day Challenge–Day 1

2 Jun
Women praying in the Western Wall tunnels. Thi...

Women praying in the Western Wall tunnels by David Shankbone. Image via Wikipedia

The first day of the challenge went well for me.  God helped me to arise extra early and to have a good time of prayer.   Other friends joined in the Challenge later in the day.  I was blessed to see how enthusiastic my friends are to pray for their husbands.  It reminded me that often in church history the spirit of prayer precedes a great move of God.  I’m of the firm belief that there is a crisis in our land, even in the church, over the issue of marriage.  But as the Lord said in my devotional reading this week:

“At times I might shut up the heavens so that no rain falls, or command grasshoppers to devour your crops, or send plagues among you.  Then if my people who are called by my name will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sins and restore their land. My eyes will be open and my ears attentive to every prayer made in this place.” 

II Chronicles 7:13-15(NIV)

God’s eyes are open and His ears attentive to every prayer that we are offering up to Him.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
2 Responses to “31 Day Challenge–Day 1”

  1. Karen Johnson June 2, 2009 at 3:10 pm #

    Hi there Alease,

    I am not sure if this is the preferred way for me to comment on your blog but here goes…

    I want to thank you again for including me on this fantastic 31 day journey. I did not receive the devotional but I did remember to pray, yesterday and today. I I am encouraged by what you shared in today’s blog — about our seeking God’s face and turning from our wicked ways so that his Spirit will be released over our lives. Today I read in Habakkuk that “the righteous will live by their faithfulness to God” (2:4c). I was struck by that and even as I prayed to God for husbands, I asked Him to help me to be more faithful (in prayer, faith, seeking Him for His sake), so that he would be truly pleased will my life and pour out even greater blessings. I am ready to live that life before him and ready to receive more…

    much love,

    KJ

    • stillsingle June 2, 2009 at 11:02 pm #

      Ooooh!! My first friend comment!! Thank you KJ!!!!!!!!! And Amen, Amen, I too am ready for more.

Leave a Reply

